sunnuntai 26. kesäkuuta 2011

Day 63: 63 days left

I've had a nice week.
Anne-Mari left on wednesday morning. On tuesday we went to eat tapas after my work and met some other interns as well. On that night I didn't sleep much, because she had to wake up early.. so I woke up as well.
It felt unreal when she left. Somehow I still expect her to pop out from somewhere. :'D It's funny how we just sat on the plane together, talking about the time we would spend here... And now she left.

On wednesday I went to 100 Montaditos to eat again, as almost every wednesday. It's so cheap! This time I actually planned on staying a bit longer than usually, because thursday was a day off from work!
I even drank some tinto de verano, which tasted very good.
In the end me and Suvi left earlier than the others.. But it was still later than usually!

I didn't do much on thursday. Every shop was closed anyways..

Then there was friday. Midsummer eve. At first I was a bit sad because I couldn't be where I usually am on Midsummer. But I guess sometimes it's good to do something different once in a while.
At first I had to go to work, but it wasn't bad. I actually worked a lot that day.
In the evening we went to Parque de Maria Luisa, this nearby park, to have a picnic. Lots of interns were there.

I only took pizza and cherry tomatoes, and some random sweet cake things.. But got to taste what some other people had brought with them..
At least I had a lot of fun. Got to know new people etc. :D
When it was time to leave (the park closes at 12) me and Suvi came back to the apartments and watched a couple episodes of Pokémon. :'D Then we were very tired and went to bed..

On saturday we went to Cádiz again.

A lot of people were supposed to come, but in the end it was only me and Suvi. :D It doesn't matter though, it was fun.
At the railway station a girl came to us asking if we spoke English, she wanted to ask something about the platforms.. Then we started talking a bit more. She was from the USA, had come to Seville to study Spanish. We talked some more then. She was nice, also coming to Cádiz. Too bad she was on the different car... And we didn't meet again when we got there. It might have been nice to spend some more time with her.

Oh well. This time Cádiz was very windy. Sand was everywhere! But it didn't matter. It was pretty nice, too. Didn't get too hot.

Something funny happened when I was sitting on the beach. A hot, shirtless man walked towards me slowly. He kept coming closer and closer. When he was right in front of me he said "hola".
...and handed me a menu of a take-away restaurant and walked away.
But what felt weird was that he didn't give the menu to everyone. He just randomly walked to random people.. The next person he gave one was pretty far from me.

I finally swam in the ocean. The water was very warm! It also felt very nice, when it was so hot... Oh and the sand was HOT. But felt good under my feet.
I guess my swimming was the reason I got burned a little bit. Not too much, but a little. My back got a bit pinkish... Also this happened:

I put sunscreen on my feet, but it seems my flipflops rubbed it off, so...
But I don't mind!

After that we went to eat in 100 Montaditos :'D It's the easiest thing to do, because it's cheap, good and easy. Then we ate ice cream in Ben&Jerry's. It was heaven.
I felt so happy.
On the way back I slept on the train. No wonder, it had been a tiring week and day.
But a very satisfying one. I've had so much fun and especially the weekend has been awesome.

Today I'm going to rest. I'm halfway there :D

sunnuntai 19. kesäkuuta 2011

Day 56: last weekend for Anne-Mari

My roommate Anne-Mari is leaving next Wednesday. It feels strange. We were just in the plane, nervous about our stay here! And now she's packing her stuff.. So weird :)
But this means I have a bit over 2 months left. Wohoo~

This week was pretty nice. Work was ok, and the week went pretty fast for me. I bought a nice leather bag, went out to eat on Wednesday... I was social! :'D
I hope the rest of the internship will be as 'easy'.

I didn't do much this weekend. Just relaxed. I bought some souveniers so I can take them with me once I go to Finland for the funeral. That way I don't have to worry about the weight of my luggage when I finally go home.
I just need to come up with ideas.. I have no idea what to buy for my nephew. There's a lot of stuff suitable for my niece, but..
Aish. So difficult.

We've been watching Pokémon in Finnish with Suvi. :'D We had this sudden urge to watch them. So nostalgic :D
We've already watched like.. 10 episodes, and we started yesterday.

Today I started missing last summer. The time when I was making my costume for Ropecon. It was nice. I wish I could make a costume this year too, but I'm here, so I'm not going this year.. A shame.

Yesterday I had a nice day. We watched Pokémon, went to buy souveniers.. Then in the evening we went to the place I told about on my last post.. So that Suvi could buy a bag. We stayed there for a while, had fun.
There was also Finnish music on! (Freestyler - Bomfunk mc's)
The sunset was nice in the park..


After we came back we went to the near restaurant to eat tapas. It was good.


It's hot in here. Our room is like a sauna. The air conditioner doesn't work. Hopefully it works before it's too hot...

sunnuntai 12. kesäkuuta 2011

Day 49: ...

This week was extremely hard for me. I've been stressing a lot.
Then my grandmother died... So yeah. It made me feel very down.

I'll be going back to Finland to her funeral. I'll be there for a couple of days. I'm just afraid I won't want to come back here anymore.. :P

I went shopping yesterday with Anne-Mari. She found lots of things, I only bought a necklace. It was expensive, but very pretty.
In the evening we (Anne-Mari and me) were headed to this park, but ended up staying at a place that has some kind of an event going on. There was live music and some small tents with shops.. There was a young Russian man selling stuff, and his face lit up when she saw us. I guess it was nice to see some people from the north.
In this one shop there was a man selling leather bags. They were gorgeous. I wanted to buy at least one, but I didn't have much money with me, because I thought we were only going to a park. But good news, the event is there for another week, so I have plenty of time.

Today we sunbathed a bit, then went to walk... Actually to buy a bag for me, but the shop was closed..
Then we went to kill some time (to see if the shop would open). And we found Plaza de España. Have some pics.






Aaand in the end the shop wasn't open when we came back. :/
Oh well. Maybe another day.
I hope next week will be a lot better than this one...

sunnuntai 5. kesäkuuta 2011

Day 42: 1/3

I'm feeling homesick yet again!
It's not too nice. I'd like to enjoy my time, but it's difficult when all I can think of is that I want home. And I still have like.. 12 weeks left. Which is 1/3 of my time here.

Work has been getting a bit boring, because I'm still working on the same thing. I don't think they understand that it's pretty much impossible to work on that same thing for 9h a day. It's not the same kind of thing they do.
But I'm hoping I'll manage to finish it next week. I'll just ask them if it's ok, so they'll give me the material, the texts for it.

On wednesday we actually did something other than work! We went to this place to eat together with some other interns. The place is awesome and cheap. Me and Suvi left to sleep early though (I really can't go to work if I don't go to bed at 11..), so we didn't see all of the people that were coming..

Suvi's parents came here, so I went to work alone on friday. She'll have the day off tomorrow, too. So unfair. :'D
My roommate Anne-Mari went to Portugal, so I am pretty much alone here now.

On friday I didn't do much when I came from work.. Just relaxed. Yesterday I watched this Korean tv drama, and at some point left to walk around (and hoping to find some shoes). I went through this pretty park.


In the end I walked around the city for over an hour, and then headed for the shopping area... I really need to find shoes for the hot summer. I don't have any good ones for walking longer distances. D:
Pretty sandals would be awesome.
After I came back I cooked.


In the evening these girls living here asked if I'd want to join them to watch Pirates of the Carribbean, since there's one movie theatre that plays original movies. So I did. We went to sit in this nearby cafe, ate brownies that tasted awesome...
Then the movie. We had to walk a bit to reach the cinema... saw a bit more. :D


The movie was ok. Not as awesome as the first one, but.. Ok. I wish they'd stop making them, since they're kinda forced now. :/

Today I'm going to relax. A long week at work is waiting for me... I need energy to make it through.
I wish it was July already! :'D August would be better, but even July would be nice.
Homesickness isn't too nice.