keskiviikko 25. huhtikuuta 2012

One year

It's been one year since I left to Spain. One year. One year ago I was sitting in an airplane, talking to Anne-Mari and the Spanish guy next to me. I disturbed Anne-Mari when she tried to sleep.
 "Ansku, are you sleeping?"

 Haha. :)


 I mostly think of the good things that happened there. The memories are nice to have. I even miss some things. :) It would be nice to be able to go to 100 Montaditos again. Or eat ice cream with Suvi while looking at the sunset by the river.. Oh and our trips! They were nice.
Sometimes I wish I could visit the places again. Eat with the same people and be disgusted about mess in the kitchen :D Maybe I'll visit Sevilla one day. Maybe when I'm older and have enough money to do anything I like.. :'D (like that would happen...)

 I doubt I'll write in this blog again. The chapter of my life has been finished. I still talk about all the things, and I think I'll never stop remembering. It was a big thing in my life. If you have an opportunity to go to another country for some reason, go for it. It might be hard, but the good things are worth it. I don't regret going. It was a good experience.

 So, goodbye for now. :)

torstai 25. elokuuta 2011

Day 123: Málaga and leaving

Hi, I guess this is the last time that I'll write in this blog while I'm still in Spain. I'm in a hotel room right now, and my flight leaves tomorrow morning, 6 AM. I've had a nice holiday in Málaga for the last few days, so I'll just share some pictures and stuff. :)



What I realized here is that I shouldn't go on a holiday alone anymore. Even though it's been fun, it would've been much nicer with some company. Going out to eat isn't even nice when you go alone... But hotel breakfasts are nice. Omnom.

My hotel room is very small, but cute. I like it. The bathroom is big and very nice. And the view from the window. Wow.
I could come to this hotel again, if I ever come to Málaga again. But I think Canarian Islands are more to my liking.

I've visited a couple of cultural sights, and went shopping, and of course to the beach.
And I did try the hotel's swimming pond. :D
Anyway. I'm ready to go home. I'll continue my holiday in Finland! :D

But all this makes me feel a little sad. I've had this life for so long, and now it's about to end. All the Spanish will disappear from around me, and I'll go back to living like I used to before I came here.
It feels like a chapter in my life is about to end. Cliche, but true.

However, I will really treasure this experience. I've had so much fun, met new people, and experienced so much. I've gained so much through this, and I'll always remember it.
I still can't understand that I'm actually leaving.
Funny.
4 months ago I couldn't understand that I was going to come here, and now I can't understand that I'm going back. But that's life. Coming and going. And now it's time for me to go back to Finland, back to my family and friends. I have missed them a lot.

Now it's time to say: Goodbye Spain, I'll see you again some day. And when that happens, I'll smile while thinking about this experience.

sunnuntai 21. elokuuta 2011

Day 119: last day in Sevilla

Even though on my last day in this city I should be walking around and just making the best of it. But I needed to do the laundry, and I should clean up a little, pack and everything... Now I'm just sitting in Suvi's room and spending quality time with her :D
Oh well, we did go to eat some ice cream and walked around. It's actually a cool and cloudy day! Only something like 27°C. I loved it.
Anyway. I'm feeling very strange. I've been living here for four months now, and now it's over. Now that I'm on a holiday, I don't really want to go to Málaga just yet. :) I want to spend more time with the girls here.
But tomorrow I'll leave.

On Friday me and Suvi got some takeaway food from the nearby restaurant.
We ate and spend the whole evening in the living room. We just talked, drank tinto de verano, ate muffins,
nuts and stuff... It was fun :D
Oh, I got another roommate, too. This time it's Tiia, who was living in Utrera before.. She's a bit quiet.

On Saturday we went to buy some souveniers. And ate Ben&Jerry's again. :D It was such a hot day. At some point Google said it was 41°C. Toooo hot.
In the evening me, Suvi, Marianna and Hanna went to eat in a restaurant, to celebrate our last weekend together.
I ate some kind of duck, which was very, very good. For dessert banoffee. Omnom.
I had so much fun that night, too. Thanks, girls. <3
It's really strange how we lived under the same roof for so long, and now it's over. Hm. I wonder how I'll learn to live alone again, once I go back to my apartment. :P

So, now it's Sunday. I'll be lazy and just.. enjoy my last day here.
And say goodbye to this place.

perjantai 19. elokuuta 2011

Day 117: 0

My internship is finally over!
It's been a long time since I came here and started my work. But still, somehow I feel like this summer went really fast. Even though sometimes it felt like forever...
A lot has happened during my time here, good and bad things.

The last weeks have gone nicely at work. I've been working a lot, and I've felt that I've actually done something useful. It's a nice feeling. Now I'm finally on holiday. It's been a while since the last time! :D
I've been too excited about my holiday that I've had a bit of a trouble falling asleep. But it doesn't really matter :)

My last day at work. :D See how excited I am? I've been eating a fruit every day at work during one break. This is the last one... Tasted sooo good!


I would like to write something about the things I've grown to like, and what I will miss once I go home...
First, I'll miss tapas. Cheap food and not too much of it! What else can you hope for? In Finland the dishes are huge, and it feels such a waste not to eat all of it, even when you're full. Here you can buy small tapas and tadah!
100 Montaditos has been a great place.. It's easy, I know it's good.. and it's cheap. That'll probably be one of the things I miss the most :D

I'll miss seeing pretty horses. There are so many horses in Sevilla. I've also found my favourite ones :) Also the sound they make when they walk..

One thing I really like here is that never have I wondered what to wear, if it's going to rain and everything. I know it'll be hot anyways, so don't need any jumpers or anything with me (at work I needed one though, the AC was too cold..). When I go back to Finland, I'll have to check the temperature, the weather and everything before I decide what to wear.

Sevilla is such a pretty city. The architecture in the center is old and beautiful. The small cervecerías next to each other, the people drinking beer after work on Friday... The Cathedral against the blue sky in the morning sun...
I'll miss it.
I'm not sure if I'll ever come back again. Probably not. But that doesn't mean this place doesn't have a special place in my heart.

The people here will always stay in my memories. I hope all of them will have a nice life. Hopefully I'll keep in touch with the girls from the residence, at least once in a while. :)
It's been nice to meet you, everyone!

Even though I'm writing things that sound like a last entry, I'll still write a few times. I'll spend a nice weekend and after that I'll go to Málaga. Beach, be ready!
Until next time :)

sunnuntai 14. elokuuta 2011

Day 112: lazy sunday

Less than two weeks left, and only 4 days at work.
I'm so glad.

Even though I've been pretty happy and felt good about being here lately, I still miss home so bad. But I've been starting to feel weird about going. The life here is so different, so will I get used to my old life soon?
Oh well, I still hope these last weeks would go fast. I've been waiting for this for so long! :D

I've been busy at work for a couple of weeks now. My boss has been giving me new jobs after another, so I haven't had much time to do anything else, which is good. At some time I didn't have anything to do. :P
But why didn't they ask me to do these before? Did they just realize that I'm leaving next week and want to squeeze everything out of me before I go?
Bleh. I hope they won't give me anything else to do for the last week, since I'm already busy with one thing.

What else should I write about.. The week was ok. I went to 100 Montaditos again on Wednesday. :P And.. well, nothing much.
I still have a new roommate, and apparently she's leaving today. She's been out almost every night :D Which is good, really. If you like going out, that is. It's kinda funny how she talks in her sleep... I usually wake up several times to hear her talk. Too bad I don't speak Dutch. :)
I really, really hope I won't get another roommate for that one week I'm staying here.

This weekend is a long one, because on Monday it's Assumption of Mary I think. There are lots of people in Sevilla right now. Yesterday there was a huge crowd with flags of different countries. Maybe something interesting will happen on Monday.
Anyway, I've got a free day, so I'm happy. :D Today is like a second Saturday because of that.

On friday me and Suvi went to an Italian restaurant to eat pizza :D The restaurant is a cute one, I fell in love with it.

The waiters were nice and spoke some English, too.
I couldn't decide what to order, so I took a risk and ordered something even though I wasn't sure about the English words.
It was good, and made me very full :D Even though we were full and all, we walked a bit and ended up to McDonald's to buy milkshakes. But they didn't have it! So we had to take McFlurries... xD I was too full after that. Ugh.

Yesterday we went shopping. But in the end we only went to one shop and then headed to eat, since we were hungry. We planned to continue shopping after that, but the shops were closing once we came back, so we had to go back.
Oh, we did buy ice cream, and look, I got this cup from Ben&Jerry's! (jäätelö = ice cream in Finnish)

I spent the evening in my room, role playing on Skype. It was weird to speak to all those people :D In the end I was so tired so I just listened to everyone else... And went to bed at 22:20. I also slept until 8:30 :D I guess I was really tired...

Today I've been just watching series. Pokémon, Pasila, The Walking Dead... So it's been a very lazy Sunday.

sunnuntai 7. elokuuta 2011

Day 105: Itálica

Yet another Sunday is here and I'm getting closer to going home. I can't wait! :D It's so close and still so far.. :P Only 2 weeks at work. The thought is so nice.

One guy at work has his holiday now, and he comes back after I leave. So I probably won't see him ever again. It's a funny thought. Kinda like with everyone else I've met here. I'll keep in touch with a few, but the rest I'll only have in my memories.

Look, they are advertising these movies. For some reason me and Suvi find the Ape one very hilarious. I don't really know why. The name just sounds funny :'D

Anyway, I said I would go somewhere cool this weekend. And I did!
Me and Suvi went to Itálica, Roman ruins. To get there we had to walk to the bus station.. and then take a bus from there. The information said there would be one bus leaving at 11AM, but when we went there, the bus on the platform wasn't heading that way. We were a bit surprised and wondered if the man had told us wrong. Good thing there were two other tourists and they seemed to be wondering about the same thing. Later we saw them at this info point and they said there should be another bus in 30 minutes. And there was.
Only cost 1,35€ to get there. I love cheap buses. :'D

It was extremely hot there. It was almost like being on a desert. The sun was harsh and there was hardly any trees or any shadows there.
The place was very impressive, but being on the sun made us very weak. I should've taken two bottles of water with me instead of one. :D

I don't know what to tell about the place, but have some pictures.


Look, they might have had a sauna! Maybe I should go there.. :'D



These are from the Amphitheatre...

And here's a replica of a statue (we saw the real one in the museum). Me and my new boyfriend :D We have the same pose!

Ok. Looots of pictures.
Hm. After this there won't be too many days left here. I guess that means I won't have much to write about. Next weekend is going to be a long one, because August 15 is a holiday here. I'm so happy about that. Though after that I only have 4 days at work, so it doesn't really matter much.. :P

Oh yeah, I got a new roommate. She's only going to stay for a week before she goes to Utrera. I might even have another roommate after her :'D Hope not.
My new roommate is from the Netherlands, she seems nice. But now I'm in a funny situation, because she locked me out. :'D
I left the room, took my laptop with me and went to Suvi's room to watch Pokémon (so we wouldn't disturb her) and when I was going back, the door was locked. Apparenly she thought I had gone somewhere and locked the door when she left...
Good thing I have my laptop with me. :'D But this does feel a bit.. annoying. Not being able to go in my room is troublesome.
Oh well, it happens. Next time I'll take my keys with me :'D

tiistai 2. elokuuta 2011

Day 100: not much left

No, I don't have much to tell right now. I just had to make a blog entry, because today it's been 100 days since I came here. I can't believe it.
Although sometimes it felt like time didn't move at all, but now that I think about it... 100 days already. Not many work days left, and soon I'll be going home and then I'll start school again.
I think I need a vacation. Good thing I decided to have that one week before going home, and one week after...

Seriously, I don't have anything to tell. Just that I've had lots of dreams, some of them have been nice, some of them not. But I like it when I dream at night. It's so exciting.

This is not exciting at all, but here's two pics from my lunch break at work. Me and Suvi are almost the only ones who bring their own lunches...
This is what I usually eat. It's easy, and it tastes really good. Lettuce, onions, apple, pasta, tuna and a little bit of honey to add sweetness.. It's awesome. Though now that I've been eating it at least once every week, it's starting to come out of my ears :'D

On monday on our way home from work Suvi almost stepped on this:
It's a shame you can't really tell how big it is, but I'll tell you that it was at least as long as my index finger..
Suvi was terrified. She didn't like the thought that she almost stepped on it. That would have been.. discusting. Just think about the sound.. :'D

I've been working a lot this week. I feel good about myself now. ^^ This time the tasks I've been working on have been pretty quick, so I haven't had time to get frustrated at them or anything like that. I'm very satisfied about that. Also when my boss checks the work and says 'Very good!' with his bad English.. It makes me feel good :)

Oh well. I guess this is about it for today. Just wanted to write something on my 100th day. :D
I might have to go to 100 Montaditos again tomorrow. I don't have many weeks left, so not so many 1€ days either :D I need to enjoy the cheap food when I can!

I'll write again later this week! We have awesome plans for saturday...